Just another WordPress.com site

Light

Today our word for the week is light!

Here are a few definitions of light on the Web:

  • of comparatively little physical weight or density; “a light load”; “magnesium is a light metal–having a specific gravity of 1.74 at 20 degrees C”
  • (used of color) having a relatively small amount of coloring agent; “light blue”; “light colors such as pastels”; “a light-colored powder”
  • characterized by or emitting light; “a room that is light when the shutters are open”; “the inside of the house was airy and light”
  • (physics) electromagnetic radiation that can produce a visual sensation; “the light was filtered through a soft glass window”

Light is

– Fast, bright, dark, faster than sound, lighten up, got a light, light at the end of the tunnel, shadow, let there be light, light/heavy, moon light, light of my life, be enlightened, spark.

Johnathan talked briefly about the age of enlightenment, I decided to research this because I did not have a full understanding of it.  The age of enlightenment, also known as the age of reason, was understanding the world in scientific ways, that are not to do with religion. It took place in the 17th and 18th century and conflicted greatly with religion. They wanted to show the truth about the world and get rid of any religion and superstitions because of the amount of deaths caused by them. This website informed me about the age of enlightenment further by bringing in a man called Rousseau. He questioned the royal families right to the throne, he said how the Gods do not choose who has the right to the throne, but in fact the people do. Rousseau said the people could also remove the Kings if they want to. Art also changed during the Age of Enlightenment, this website talks about this change as well as this website from earlier. It has taught me how art changed from being mainly about the Gods  to a more naturalist approach. Art began to be focused on everyday people to provoke an emotion. More women began to paint but they were  not allowed to work with nude models which hindered them. Instead they focused on still life and portraiture but only few were admitted into academies. The style changed into ‘neo-classical’  style with neo meaning new and classical meaning a long time ago. Below is a painting from the 18th century of a ‘normal’ rich family and a portrait piece. This was a optomistic time but clearly went again religion. After my analysis of the age of enlightenment, I have decided to not create a video linked to it so I continued my research.

We looked at painting with light  in the lecture. I have always found this interesting but did not know how to do it, I thought this was a good opportunity to experiment with it. I researched light art and found this website which had some interesting light art on. I like all the big swirls and would like to have a go at drawing light people like this one.

I found the above picture in this article. It talks about an artist doing light art in a variety of locations. ‘Welsh artist Michael Bosanko creates the amazing light graffiti effect using only five coloured torches and by leaving his digital Canon camera on a long exposure.’ I find it so interesting just looking at what he has designed and I cannot wait to try it! I also found this article which talks about the picture below. The artist stays anonymous and goes to abandoned buildings to create her light art, she says she finds beauty in decay. When I first saw her light art, I was unsure as to how she had created it, but it says ‘Each image is created with the help of light boxes lined with silver foil and given a lid, which is carved with patterns.’ The butterflies looked too precise to be drawn individually so this makes more sense.

The use of light boxes reminded me of this video we were shown in the lecture.

I rented out a Nikon D90 after the lecture. I googled how to make it work because apart from the shutter speed, I did not know what else to change. Once I was in the correct settings it was easy to use. I got my flatmates to use a torch to draw things and after some experimenting, we started coming up with some good light painting.

I did this one by changing the torch settings to SOS.

This is my favourite picture that was taken. It reminds me of one of my favourite childhood films, Fairy Tale: A True Story. This is about two young girls finding fairies in the brook at the bottom of their garden. They take pictures of themselves with the fairies and these are released into the press which makes the fairies leave. I loved this film as a child mainly because the name Faye means Fairy.

Filming my light art went well. My flatmates were willing to help me which instantly made it a lot easier because I could either draw or take the picture without having to make sure I have set up the camera in the correct place. I did a few by myself by putting the camera on a flat surface and putting the timer on for longer to allow me to get in front of the camera and then start drawing the light art. It would have been easier if I had a camera timer remote but I do not have access to one. I spend two evenings playing around with the light art but could have done another evening to do more experimental art. Although doing light art in the first place was a big experiment! From doing this i feel so much more confident using the Nikon D90. Not only did I learn how to create the correct settings for light art, I also learnt other uses and settings for the camera  such as depth of field. I tried a variety of different drawings such as a garden, swirls, ears on people and tracing people.  The one I enjoyed doing the most was drawing people, I like how it can come out completely different if you do a slight thing wrong which could make the person no longer look human. Some come out so good and some just do not work at all and this is what I like about drawing human shapes. I had roughly 100 photographs because I really enjoyed playing around with it.

I done this at the weekend and had no access to my normal editing software because the buildings were closed and my laptop has been sent off to be fixed. My old laptop only had Windows Movie Maker so I edited on this. I have not used this software in quite a while but after a bit of experimentation I picked it up and found it very easy to use. I chose the pictures suitable to use and put them in a separate folder then imported this folder into Movie Maker. I arranged these into the order I wanted and imported the soundtrack – watch the sun come up by example. I chose this because it is about the sun, which is the main source of light, and people. It is also upbeat and I feel like it matches the drawings of people well. I like how it is upbeat because it feels fun and I had fun creating it. If I re-created the sound, I might be more experimental by having a narrative in the background such as a poem about light. I received feedback from tutors and others on my course. They said the background lets it down because it is just around my house. They would have liked to see it in a different location. I also had a comment saying the music is too happy and because it is dark it should be more slow and unhappy although someone else said the music fits well with the piece.

Here is my final result.

Leave a Reply

